MSRC News Details

Dr. Kelly Cukrowicz to be honored with the 2014 The Edwin S. Shneidman Award

The Edwin S. Shneidman Award, named for AAS founder Ed Shneidman, is awarded annually to a researcher who is under forty years of age or not more than 10 years past their highest degree earned. It recognizes someone who has made outstanding contributions in research in the field of suicidology. Past recipients of this award include former AAS presidents, leaders in suicidology nationally and internationally, as well as a number of current MSRC members and funded PIs. We are very proud to announce that this year’s recipient, Dr. Kelly Cukrowicz, is a member of MSRC, faculty for this year’s pre-conference training day, and trained under MSRC director Dr. Joiner. Dr. Cukrowicz’s contributions to understanding suicide in the elderly are numerous, and she is truly a rising star.